This and That
Art In All Its Forms
25 Bad Songs: 5. "Last Night In Soho"
0:00
-18:43

25 Bad Songs: 5. "Last Night In Soho"

NOTE: If you’d like to skip my commentary and go straight to the song, go to 13:13. However, I do suggest listening to the whole episode!

NOTE 2: Other than the title, this song has nothing to do with the new film, “Last Night In Soho.”

Thanks for tuning into the fifth episode of “25 Bad Songs,” an Art In All Its Forms podcast series where I (Suraj) write 25 songs — one song a week — and show you how I did it!

Today’s song, “Last Night In Soho,” tells a story of a breakup that happens in a very famous place and how rejection can be difficult to deal with.

*****

Full Lyrics:

Verse 1
I’ll dress up nice if you say so
Cause it’s our last night in Soho
Living with zero regrets
Trade in the t-shirt and sweats
One look in the mirror before I go

Pre-chorus-ish
Step up onto the street
And our eyes meet
Can you believe this heat
I keep on talking nervously
Walking down West Broadway
That’s when you say “shut up let’s get a drink”
We go into the place right away

Build up
Since that summer I met you
I still look at you the same way
You drink so slowly and put the glass down
To tell me everything’s changed

Chorus
Please don’t say anymore
I can’t handle the fall
Please don’t say anymore
I need help from the alcohol

Verse 2
I dressed up nice cause you said so
And it’s our last night in Soho
But now I can see what you meant
Our relationship currency spent
You wanted to talk before you go

Pre-chorus-ish
You’re so complicated
I don’t get it I’m too faded
To make any sense of this
Don’t leave me though

Build up
Since that summer I met you
I still look at you the same way
You drink so slowly and put the glass down
To tell me everything’s changed

Chorus
Please don’t say anymore
Guess I better walk out the door
Please don’t say anymore
It was good while it lasted though

Build up
Since that summer I met you
I still look at you the same way
You drink so slowly and put the glass down
To tell me everything’s changed

Chorus
Please don’t say anymore
Your voice will leave me on the floor
Please don’t say anymore
I’m too immature
I’ll just take the train back home

0 Comments
This and That
Art In All Its Forms
Art In All Its Forms is a podcast that explores the intersection between different art forms and society at large. Suraj Partha, an actor and musician, speaks with artists and professionals to discover what inspires and connects them.